Top of page Skip navigation

Links

Creating a Healthy Workplace

Workplace health needs assessment

Department of Health www.dh.gov.uk

Department for Work & Pensions www.dwp.gov.uk

Business Link www.businesslink.org

European Network for Workplace Health www.enwhp.org

Creating a Healthy Workplace www.fph.org.uk

National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence www.nice.org.uk
Detailed guidance on:
- Promoting physical activity in the workplace
- Workplace interventions to promote smoking cessation
- Management of long-term sickness and incapacity for work
- Promoting mental wellbeing at work

Health at work www.bhf.org.uk/HealthAtWork

Happiness at Work http://www.actionforhappiness.org/10-keys-to-happier-living/at-work

Workplace Wellbeing Charter www.wellbeingcharter.org.uk

Working for Health www.workingforhealth.gov.uk/Carol-Blacks-Review

Schools Workforce Health and Wellbeing www.swhwcornwall.co.uk

Union Learn www.unionlearn.org.uk

 

Health & Safety

Health & Safety www.hse.gov.uk

Health & Safety Guidance www.hse.gov.uk/simple-health-safety

Asbestos www.asbestos.com

Equality Act 2010 Guidance www.acas.org.uk

 

Recruitment, Retention and Return to Work

Chartered Institute of Personnel & Development www.cipd.co.uk

Advisory, Conciliation and Arbitration Service www.acas.org.uk

Real Baby Milk www.realbabymilk.org

Management of long-term sickness and incapacity for work www.nice.org.uk/PH19

Tackling the disability employment gap https://www.lepnetwork.net/news-and-events/2017/november/tackling-the-disability-employment-gap/

 

 

Mental Wellbeing including minimizing stress

MindEd www.minded.org.uk

Mind www.mind.org.uk

Time for Change www.time-to-change.org.uk

Healthy Minds at Work www.healthymindsatwork.org.uk

Shift www.shift.org.uk

The Mental Health Foundation www.mentalhealth.org.uk

The Sainsbury Centre for Mental Health www.scmh.org.uk

Mindful Employer www.mindfulemployer.net

Relate www.relate.org.uk

Samaritans www.samaritans.org

British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy www.bacp.co.uk

International Stress Management Association (ISMA) www.isma.org.uk

Stress Management Standards www.hse.gov.uk/stress/

Stress Management Society www.stress.org.uk/

UK National Stress Network www.workstress.net

Promoting mental wellbeing at work www.nice.org.uk/PH22

Sea Sanctuary www.sea-sanctuary.co.uk/

IAPT www.iapt.nhs.uk

Healthy Workplace Manage Stress Campaign https://www.healthy-workplaces.eu/en

Cornwall Foundation Trust https://www.cornwallft.nhs.uk/ 

MHFA Line Managers Resource https://mhfaengland.org/mhfa-centre/resources/for-workplaces/

Mental Health for Employers http://wellbeing.bitc.org.uk/all-resources/toolkits/mental-health-employers

A Whole Organisation Approach to Mental Health

Suicide Prevention Toolkit http://wellbeing.bitc.org.uk/all-resources/toolkits/suicide-prevention-toolkit

Suicide Postvention Toolkit http://wellbeing.bitc.org.uk/all-resources/toolkits/suicide-postvention-toolkit

 

MSK including Back, Joint and Muscle Health

BackCare www.backcare.org.uk

Health & Safety Executive www.hse.gov.uk/msd/index.htm

Fitback www.fitback.co.uk

Sports & Hollistic Therapy http://www.juliemonk.co.uk

Physiomed http://physiomed.co.uk/body-parts/lower-back

Musculoskeletal Health Toolkit for Employers - http://wellbeing.bitc.org.uk/all-resources/toolkits/musculoskeletal-health-toolkit-employers

MSK Self-assessment toolkit which is a supporting document to the suite of toolkits, so that businesses can audit the progress being made in implementing the measures set out in the toolkits. The tool can be downloaded here: https://wellbeing.bitc.org.uk/all-resources/toolkits/self-assessment-toolkit

Productive Healthy Ageing and MSK

 

Smoking, Substance and Alcohol Awareness

No Smoking Day www.nosmokingday.org.uk

QUIT www.quit.org.uk

Action on Smoking & Health www.ash.org.uk

Smoke Free England www.smokefreeengland.co.uk

Cornwall Stop Smoking Service www.healthpromcornwall.org/projects/stop-smoking-service

Alcohol Health Network www.alcoholhealthnetwork.org.uk

Drink Aware www.drinkaware.co.uk

Portman Group http://www.portmangroup.org.uk

Alcohol Concern www.alcoholconcern.org.uk

Alcoholics Anonymous www.alcoholics-anonymous.org.uk

FRANK www.talktofrank.com

DrugScope www.drugscope.org.uk

Narcotics Anonymous http://www.drugscope.org.uk

Alcohol Learning Centre www.alcohollearningcentre.org.uk

NHS www.drinking.nhs.uk

British Liver Trust www.britishlivertrust.org.uk

 

Physical Activity

Step Jockey- Rate you stairs for calorie burn www.stepjockey.com

National Walking the Way to Health www.whi.org.uk

Walking Works www.walkingworks.org.uk

Get Active Cornwall www.getactivecornwall.co.uk

Cornwall Healthy Weight www.cornwallhealthyweight.org.uk

Cornwall Sports Partnership www.cornwallsportspartnership.co.uk

Sport England www.sportengland.org

Find a Sport Buddy www.findasportbuddy.co.uk

Blue Gym www.bluegym.org.uk/

Workplace Health Promotion: How to encourage employees to be physically active www.nice.org.uk/PH013

Sport and public services of Cornwall College www.cornwall.ac.uk/sport

Sports & Hollistic Therapy http://www.juliemonk.co.uk

 

Active Travel

Sustrans Active Travel Toolkit www.activetravel.org.uk

Cycle to Work Scheme Alliance www.cycletoworkalliance.org.uk

Cornwall Active Travel www.cornwall.gov.uk/activetravel

Cornwall Car Share Scheme www.carsharecornwall.com

Living Streets www.walkingworks.org.uk

Travel Line SW www.travelinesw.com

Transport Direct www.transportdirect.info

Sustrans www.sustrans.org.uk

Travel to Work Grant www.cornwall.gov.uk

 

Healthier Eating including Healthy Weight

Food Standards Agency www.food.gov.uk

Cornwall Healthy Weight www.cornwallhealthyweight.org.uk

CHEFS - Cornwall Healthier Eating & Food Standards www.cornwall.gov.uk/chefs

Eatwell www.eatwell.gov.uk

Salt www.salt.gov.uk

British Dietetic Association www.bdaweightwise.com

British Nutrition Foundation www.nutrition.org.uk

Healthy Boxes www.healthyboxes.com

Healthier Food Mark www.dh.gov.uk

Change for Life www.nhs.uk/change4life

PHE / BiTC Toolkit https://wellbeing.bitc.org.uk/all-resources/toolkits/physical-activity-healthy-eating-and-healthier-weight-toolkit-employers

 

Healthy Weight

Change for Life www.nhs.uk/Change4Life/Pages/default.asp

National Obesity Society www.nationalobesityforum.org.uk/

Cornwall Healthy Weight www.cornwallhealthyweight.org.uk

Cornwall Healthy Weight brochure click here

British Heart Foundation - bhf.org.uk/health-at-work/inspire-workplace-health

 

Choosing Well

GENERAL

Health At Work www.bhf.org.uk/HealthAtWork

Responsibility Deal Health at Work Pledges www.responsibilitydeal.dh.gov.uk

British Heart Foundation www.bhf.org.uk

Men's Health Forum www.menshealthforum.org.uk

Everyman www.everyman-campaign.org

Women's Health Concern www.womens-health-concern.org

Making the workplace a safe space to be LGB&T

Skin Cancer Prevention www.sun-safe.org

The Karen Clifford Skin Cancer Charity Skin Cancer Prevention and Early Detection Presentation

www.bad.org.uk
http://info.cancerresearchuk.org
www.swpho.nhs.uk/skincancerhub

Cancer Awareness Spot Cancer Early info.cancerresearchuk.org/spotcancerearly/

Macmillan Cancer At Work Pack Download the Macmillian Cancer at Work pack

NHS Choices - Your Health, Your Choices www.nhs.uk/Pages/homepage.aspx

Real Baby Milk www.realbabymilk.org or https://realbabymilk.org/breastfeeding-friendly-places-2/

Cornwall Blind Association www.cornwallblind.org.uk

Job Centre Plus http://www.jobcentrenearme.com

Stroke Association http://www.stroke.org.uk/

UV Buddy - Ultra Violet Awareness Accessories www.uv-buddy.com

Diabetes Risk Assessment Tool http://riskscore.diabetes.org.uk/

Hypnotherapy Directory www.hypnotherapy-directory.org.uk

Dental, Oral, Teeth - Resource Advice Etc Peninsula Dental Social Enterprise (pdse) are building a cache of visuals and key info for people and they can always get in touch with the team for more support! Please email: catherine.godfrey@plymouth.ac.uk for more information.

Sleep and recovery toolkit aimed at all employers which consolidates the best evidence, employer practice and aligned with the best freely available resources. The toolkit can be downloaded here: https://wellbeing.bitc.org.uk/all-resources/toolkits/sleep-and-recovery-toolkit

Menopause Guides 

 

CORNWALL SPECIFIC

Healthy Cornwall www.healthycornwall.org.uk

One You - www.oneyoucios.co.uk

South West Occupational Health Nurse Group www.rcn-oh-southwest.co.uk/index.php

Cornwall Council www.cornwall.gov.uk

Heart Start Cornwall www.heartstartcornwall.org.uk/


CORNWALL BUSINESS'S NETWORKS

Cornwall Chamber of Commerce www.ccci.org.uk/

Truro College Business Club www.trurocollege.ac.uk/businesscentre

The Business League www.thebusinessleague.co.uk

Obesity

People suffering from obesity could reduce their future earning power by as much as £500 per annum because qualifciations, skills and experience become outdated during long term absences from work caused by their conditions.

Dame Carol Black,

"It is fantastic to see Cornwall and Isles of Scilly championing the health and work agenda and I look forward to seeing the Workplace Award act as a catalyst for further change in the county. Good health is good business and I encourage all employers that are serious about the agenda to apply for this confirmation of best practice." Dame Carol Black, National Director for Health and Work.

Workplace Log In

Register